Here White, There White, Everywhere White!


As the weekend comes to a close, all though in my profession rest days hardly exist, I sit her listening the the constant scraping of snow plows and ice chippers… Winter has returned after a short break, in full force! Blizzard style. Fortunately for us snow days are nonexistent… 🙂 hmm

Because of tomorrows exam for a graduating teaching student who is using our class to show her self, we were given saturday off and worked on sunday.  After Friday’s classes and rehearsals, I raced to the metro as fast one can in – 15 degree weather with winds and snow blowing in your face while testing your ice skating capabilities of your boots. Grabbed my weekend kit and some chocolates for presents and travelled to meet Lena(Patricia’s amazing assistant)  and spend some time meeting here incredible family. They live in a small town outside of Moscow.  Her son Pasha was having a birthday party and he invited some kids from his class. The whole weekend was wonderful and I enjoyed playing russian children games and bartering in the renok(russian market) while freezing my fingers off! The country side of Russia is so beautiful! The tall evergreen trees are dusted with a thick film of of powdery white snow that also blankets the the land.

The people I met where so open and kind! They loved to tell me stories of all of their adventures! I learned how to make several russian salads and other dishes :). The Russians are a people with passionate souls and they love to have a good time with famil and friends.

This morning I woke up early warmed up and then Lena’s husband drove me into Moscow to school in  time for class. All in all todays class was bad…. I got really frustrated at myself and I am praying that tomorrow everything will be o.k. for the Committee that will come and watch….Pray!

We rehearsed our variations after class. Before I rehearsed mine, I tried praying and asking God to help me deal with my anxiety about the class, variation, etc. and I felt calmer. I was able to work and really focus on fixing the points that she wanted to cleaned. Although I felt like the variation could have been more expressive, I was happy to be able to show here a clean musical and strong version. To try and work off so extra calories I spent some time balancing, and turning and then left to go home.

heheh then I had a massage! 🙂 All in all, God is at work. I understand that I am a work in progress but often times I worry about why I cant be consistent. I hope to push myself further and grow closer to God this week.

Thats all for now but look: PICTURE TIME! 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 Comments »

  1. Jessie Said:

    Beautiful Joy,
    I really enjoy your blog posts – keep them coming!
    I’m sending you a FB message with further comments.
    Love,
    Jessie

  2. eg Said:

    Joy, I will keep you in my prayers. Good luck to you tomorrow, you will do great! Don’t worry! Do your best and God will take care of the rest!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

